News & Events

» RYCO 24•7 NZ V8 Utes Taupo: Shane Dias Wins & Peter Ward Is Still In The Lead

Ready for the new results for RYCO 24•7 NZ V8 Utes Championship in Taupo, Bruce McLaren Motorsport Park – Round 3?

In brief, the Taupo round of the RYCO 24•7 NZ V8 Utes racing series was one of mixed fortunes! In the end, Shane Dias won the round with two race wins, yet for other competitors, it was a weekend of panel beating and head-scratching. With two more races on the weekend of 26th – 28th of March in Taupo, it was still a 4-horse race between Peter Ward, Shane Dias, father and son duo – Brad, and Greg Kroef.

Unleashing the results for RYCO 24•7 NZ V8 Utes Championship – Round 3

Dias started Sunday’s reverse grid Race Two in fast forward. After starting at the back, Dias worked his way up to lead by lap three with championship hopeful Brad Kroef chasing hard.

Further back in the midfield, however, the drama was unfolding. As Simon Ussher approached the back straight on lap 3, he locked up and ran wide into Stu Monteith’s Holden. Sensing carnage ahead, Phil Ross braked, locked up, nudged Brad Kroef, then hit Monteith… hard. Out came the safety car and in went a bruised and battered Ross into the pits.

Despite the mayhem, Brad Kroef recovered to ultimately win Race Two as gear linkage issues relegated Dias to 2nd just ahead of Greg Kroef and championship leader Ward in 4th.

With the title race closing, Race Three in the afternoon was destined to be a heated affair. Dias and Brad Kroef were in the front row. When the lights went out it was a drag race to turn one. Brad Kroef prevailed. Dias piled on the pressure and managed to get around Brad Kroef on the back straight. From there, his race was in the bag!

Bruce McLaren Motorsport Park

RYCO 24•7 NZ V8 Utes Round 3

RYCO 24•7 NZ V8 Utes Round 3

Yet, as Dias kept extending his lead, the battle between the two Kroefs and Ward was less predictable. Brad Kroef was holding onto second, but father Greg was trying to get around the highly experienced Ward in third. Trying perhaps a little too hard – Greg Kroef braked late and ran off into the kitty litter at the start of lap 7 and Ward left him for dust.

That’s how the positions of the championship contenders remained at the chequered flag. So as Dias celebrated his 27th birthday that weekend, two race wins and a second place gave him something more to celebrate, helping close the gap to championship leader Ward.

So as the points battle in Bruce McLaren Motorsport Park tightens, it sets up a nail-biting final round for the RYCO 24•7 NZ V8 Utes final round at Hampton Downs in 4 weeks.


Place Driver Car Total Points
1st Peter Ward Holden 315 points
2nd Shane Dias Holden 271 points
3rd Brad Kroef Ford 270 points
4th Greg Kroef Ford 233 points
5th Simon Ussher Ford 207 points
6th Paul Fougere Holden 184 points
7th Stu Monteith Holden 172 points
8th Bruce McRae Holden 170 points
9th David Lowe Holden 148 points
10th Phil Ross Holden 115 points
11th Daniel Ludlam Ford 112 points
12th Brent Martin Holden 60 points
13th Nick Ross Holden 58 points

Gear up for Round 4 at Hampton Downs Motorsport Park from 22nd –24th April 2022!

Content credit to LIVE Advertiser – Glenn Churches who shares with us news reports about the event!

Photography Credit: Dillon Photo NZ

Join the RYCO 24•7 Network

Join the RYCO 24•7 Team today, visit Business Opportunities for more details.

1800 133 247